top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Story Time With Book Author JaLeissa Speight!

Me and my son love reading books so much that we decided to create a story time segment just for children!


In the video above we're reading "You Are my Sonshine" written by JaLeissa Speight and illustrated by I Cenizal. I also got a chance to interview the book author! Continue reading below for more details as well as how to order your Sonshine a copy!





Before becoming a mom what was life like for you?


JaLeissa: I was always a hard worker and just focused on accomplishing my own personal goals. Once I became a mom, I suddenly realized that my life was no longer just simply about me. Now I have this little person watching my every move and relying on me to show him the way. That just made me want to hustle and go so much harder because I refuse to fail my child so everything I do I give 200% now.


What inspired you to start writing?


JaLeissa: always wanted to write a book. I have lots of manuscripts that I started and just never finished. Looking back I believe that the reason I never finished was because I was never passionate enough about the topic to follow through. Writing a book about the love I have for my son was EASY!!!


Are you currently writing any more books?


JaLeissa: Not currently but working on expanding the You Are My Sonshine brand with more merchandise related to the book.


What do you want children to know about you as an author?


JaLeissa: That I never gave up on my dream of writing a book and that they can do whatever they want to do in life as long as you give your absolute best and never give up. Dream big and shoot for the stars!


What’s one life lesson you feel is important for children to remember?


JaLeissa: lAlways be yourself...Never feel like you need to conform to what society tells you you should be. You decide who you want to be in this world and you can make all of your dreams come true. There is nothing that you need to prove to anyone else in order to make yourself happy. All that matters at the end of the day is your personal happiness and that you were true to yourself ALWAYS.


What’s one life lesson from your youth that you continue to institute as an adult?


JaLeissa: Giving 110% into everything that I do and as long as I know that I did my best I am content and happy with the outcome. I do not give up easy and I always try to look at the positive from every situation because every experience has an underlying lesson learned.

What other projects are you currently working on outside of writing?


JaLeissa: I have started a health and wellness business and am working on establishing a project management consulting business.


How can you be reached for booking?


Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page