top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Queen Of He.Arts - Melanie Means


Spiritualist, and proud mommy are a few words to describe Melanie Means. This Michigan native has a very distinct talent when it comes to art! Not only has her work been featured in art shows, she also is known for her customized trays, canvasess, and wall letters. You name it, and she'll work her paint brush like a magic wand! The determination and dedication not only reflects in her craft, but in her heart as well! I reached out to the Queen Of He.Arts herself, and she happily agreed to open up with you all. This is a read worth sticking around for, so enjoy!


Why did you choose to become a painter?


Melanie: I didn’t really choose to become a artist,it just kind of happened! I was dealing with depression and anxiety; mainly depression. After a few months from being hospitalized for depression, I just picked up a brush and it happened! 


What do you enjoy the most about art as a whole?


Melanie: I enjoy doing commissions for people, helping making their vision come to life. It is a love-hate relationship though. As much as I love doing commissions, I also love when I don’t have to do any either. It leaves room for me to be creative in my own essence . 


If you had describe your style, what would you label it as?


Melanie: I don’t think I have any particular style.


Where do you get most of your inspiration from?


Melanie: I get inspired by regular people; regular local artist. The people I connect with on Facebook,Instagram and other social platforms. 


Out of all your pieces, which one do you personally connect with the most, and why?


Melanie: I don’t have one painting that I necessarily connect with. I think the beauty of art is that "in the moment" personal connection you form with each piece. I do have a few that I have to pat myself on the back for as far as technique and style.


What's the most memorable response you've had to your work?


Melanie: The most memorable response I’ve got was doing a set of custom painted letters for a girls bedroom,who's really into unicorns. Her mom actually sent me a video of her reaction and it was just priceless! I just love getting reactions like that, especially from kids. 


Is the artistic life lonely? What do you do to counteract it?


Melanie: The artist lifestyle only feels lonely when you’re not at your most creative peak. Just like writers have "writers block" a lot of artists sometimes have "artist block". So I think in the midst of that is when it feels most lonely.


What is your ultimate dream project?


Melanie: My dream project is to actually work on a graffiti wall somewhere in my hometown. That would be a really great goal for me,it would make me feel most accomplished!


What’s the best piece of advice someone has given you?


Melanie: The best piece of advice someone has given me regarding art, is from an artist in New York named Kenneth. He told me when it comes to art and business, do not look at The way other people eat off their own business. Do not try to get a piece of the pie when you can create your own.


What advice would you like to give readers?


Melanie: The best piece of advice I would like to give readers is to follow your own dreams and passions. Don’t get shaken up in the midst of struggles, persevere! In the mist of struggles is when God will use you and your gifts.


”Dream Bigger,  we can paint the picture “

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page