top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Professional Rugby Player Aaron Cummings Shares A "Peace" of Himself Before The PR7 Championship


According to Britannica.com their website states, "Rugby is a 15-a-side team sport. The object of the game is to ground the ball behind the opponent's try line, into what is called the in-goal area. Rugby is played both with the ball in hand and by kicking the ball. However, when the ball is being carried in hand it can only be thrown or handed off backwards."




Now that we have a general understanding for the sport, Why not give it a try with some friends? We can also gain more insight by talking to an actual player, but not just any player a PROFESSIONAL!


Aaron Cummings is a professional Rugby Player who'll be apart of the PR7 Championship October, 9th 2021 that's taking place at the Autozone park in Memphis,TN. You can catch him playing live on channel FS2 from 4pm to 6pm. Visit FOXsports.com and their apps for more details and visit PRsevens.com to get your tickets for in person! Resilient is an understatement to describe his perspective towards life and rugby, if you're ready to feel inspired keep reading!



How did your love for rugby develop?


Aaron:My love for rugby developed in high school. I was a multi sport athlete, and picked it up my senior year after I chose not run track. One game and I fell in love with it. Thankfully I got a division one rugby scholarship to Davenport University.




How do you prepare mentally for each game?


Aaron: mentally prepare everyday. Constantly putting myself under pressure to be better than next. So every night I lay down, pray and manifest. I picture playing, running our plays, making good plays, how I’ll respond to bad plays. From top to bottom. I make sure everyday I am visualizing success, and showing results.


What's one difference you notice playing as a professional verses your previous years?


Aaron: Difference between pro and amateur is monumental. Money or none basically. At 21 I signed my first contract for a year. It was great, and I was paid well. However, I did not resign. The last three years have been a grind. When you’re not playing pro you have to work, and play. I worked 5-6 days week riding my bike to work. While also playing rugby full time. Risking my body just to get an opportunity. Not to sign a contract, but for someone just ask me to come and tryout. This past year I was out in Houston for about six months. Didn’t work out. After I’d been working three years for that opportunity. Then I went to Chicago over this past summer played, humbled myself, stayed consistent and the results showed. I helped us win a mens division one (top amateur league in USA) championship. After that I was offered to play for team USA and train for the next Olympics full time. So it’s hard to not be a pro and take it serious. However, if you can stay consistent and show results it WILL work out.



What's one thing you would say to the youth who's considering rugby but on the fence about it?


Aaron: I would tell the youth this is the fastest growing sport in America. Everyone in the world plays this sport, and it’s bigger than football or basketball. A true warrior spirited sport. A sport for kids with aggression, intelligence, and of all shapes and sizes. There’s a position for each height and body build. You can be in the Olympics and win a gold medal for your country. How cool would that be?


What is one quote you live by?

Aaron: Success breeds complacency. Complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive.





Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page