top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Old School Meets New School With Big Demet

Updated: Jan 10, 2020

Think fast! What's your favorite era of hiphop? If you said the 80s or 90s, well you aren't alone! With there being so many unique sounds in today's music, sometimes we can't help but feel the void in hearts of the previous eras. Lucky for us there is an artist by the name Big Demet! He gracefully bridges the gap between old school and new school music with deeply worded lyrics in songs such as Big Demet Flow Pt1,Serve and Deep End ft. Cde Vibe just to name a few! It was my pleasure to interview Big Demet as he shares a piece of himself with you all, enjoy!

At what age did you write your first rap?


Big Demet: It's 2 answers to this question. I wrote my first rap in 3rd grade, but it was weak lol. So I stopped writing and never wrote again until the 9th grade. So I would say officially 14.


What was your families initial response to you wanting to be a rapper?


Big Demet:My Mom and Pops was alright with it, my Pops still don't like the cussing.lol At first my grandparents didn't like me doing it, especially since I veered away from gospel rap and when I started making my raps more personal.

What is the most heart felt song you ever wrote?

Big Demet: I have a few I would say, a song I did called Grievin, I'm basically detailing how I found rap and how my grandfather's death affected me: being that I watched him die. The other song would be a song I did called Big Demet Flow pt2, that's the first song I ever shed tears while recording. My last song would be a song I recently dropped called Passenger Thoughts, just a heartfelt song about my life and the things I want to do with it.


Where do you get most of your musical influence from?


Big Demet: I have a lot of different influences because I listen to different music. The most influence come from my top 5: Eazy E, Ice Cube, 2pac, Dj Quik, and The Game. My musical taste is really vintage - I like alot funk music. I love Sade, She my favorite lol. So I get inspiration from that as well.


What do you think will bridge the gap between new age rappers and the OG's thats been in the game?

Big Demet: That's kind of like a parent to a child you know. The OG's was once young and they carried the same rebel spirit that we the younger generation carry now. I think respect and understanding will really bridge the gap. But my generation should respect the history and just off the fact that hip hop has changed lives and provided opportunities. The OG's should understand respect is earned.



"My musical taste is really vintage - I like alot funk music." - Big Demet


If you could collab with any artist right now, who would it be and why?


Big Demet: On the local tip I would collab with Dolo 24, Ama$e, JH Robbie, Cde Vibe, Stackzo, and shout to them GHI Boyz, 007 Dre and GHI Ty. On the more mainstream tip: J Stone, The Game, Roddy Ricch, Kendrick Lamar, Nas and probably more.


Where do you see yourself 6 months from now?


Big Demet: 6 months from now I see myself getting more shows. Headlining my own shows. Just being a operational label. My own entity.


Do you have any advice to new young artist?


Big Demet: My advice would just be to stay true to your vision compromise for no one. Art is from the heart. It's something out there for everybody you just gotta find your niche.


If you could put together a tour right now, who would you want to be apart of it?


Big Demet: Me, GHI Boyz ,Ama$e, Cde Vibe, Stackzo, Nique Got It and Ebe Munna.


10. Where can you be reached for booking?


Big Demet: Email:demetriussims06@gmail.com Youtube: Big Demet Ig:Big Demet42 Soundcloud: Big Demet Sc: Big Demet

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page