top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview With Recording Artist | Kellette

Updated: Jun 18, 2020

Let’s take a break to get in touch with our heart space 💚! Lately the world has been a little crazy and I’m sure that effects our moods especially towards ourselves and others. When I need a mini breather, an artist I can count on to shift the mood is Kellette! She has such a soulful, passionate voice that blows me away!



Her latest single Effortless is a grace of musical essence one can’t deny. You can stream it now on Apple Music and Spotify!



Not only does she sings, she is the owner of the The K-List” Blog. Where you can get all the music 411.






Did I mention Kellette is a social media consultant?! She is the owner of Frequency Media” , what an impressive resume!



I got the chance to catch up with Kellette. She opens up about the beginning of it all for her musically, her life goals, and she also spills the tea on her inspiration for her mixtape titled #NO Dubs”. Everyone meet Kellette!



What first got you into music?


Kellette: I used to hang out with my grandfather a lot as a kid and he would play all kinds of oldies, jazz, and blues music. He gave me my first CD , which was the best of Sam Cooke, and its been on since! Also, being from New Orleans is such a huge part of my sound . The city has so much culture and the people are beautiful and full of stories. It's so inspiring.


How would you describe the music that you typically create?


Kellette: I tell stories and drop gems in all of my music and its relatable to those that are going/have been through. Its healing, exposing, and loving. It's me.


What is your creative process usually like?


Kellette: I typically take a few days to myself and meet all of the needs that I've neglected of myself. From there, its on and popping with the inspiration and the transparency. Its like the words just flow. I typically freestyle all of my tracks first, singing and rapping, then go back and organize the ideas.


Who would you most likely to collaborate with?


Kellette: I'd love to work with Anderson Paak, Smino, Erykah Badu, and SiR. They all have unique sounds and I think it would be so groovy.


Where did the inspiration for your mixtape “#NoDubs” come from?




Kellette: I was in a pretty tough relationship at the time and the way we would communicate how we felt without exploding on each other was sending songs that expressed how we felt. Eventually, I ran out of songs (LOL) so I made some that said exactly what I was thinking.


What would you be doing right now, if it wasn’t for your music career?


Kellette: I'd be absolutely lost. Even my 9-5 is in the music industry. Music is truly everything that I eat, breathe, and sleep. There is no Kellette or even simply Kori without music.


How do you feel the Internet has impacted the music business?


Kellette: I think its made it congested but a hub for so many amazing ideas to be shared. Its also given so much power to the artists. We can be so much more hands on and truly manage our own careers. I think it has sparked and independence movement amongst artists.


What is the most trouble you’ve ever gotten into?


Kellette: My best friend and I were juniors and snuck out to the senior's graduation parties in high school. Stayed out til 4AM and had to race back to my house because our parents were gathered in my living room. We were super stoned when we walked in which made it no better. Definitely got our cars taken and was on lockdown for weeks.


If you could change anything about the industry, what would it be?


Kellette:The representation of relationships. Our generation is so hurt and tainted by these unattainable realities that we are constantly shown that we've become numb to true experiences and emotions. We need those love songs like "Never too Much" ," Lady in my life" , and "Daydreamin" to name a few. Love can't thrive when we worried about bitches, bags, and bullshit.


What can we expect for Kellette in 2020? How can you be reached for booking?


Kellette: More music,more performances, and way more content. You can find me every gahdamn where, but my email is itskellette@gmail.com


FW ME ❤️

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page