top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Transforming Teaching: An Insightful Conversation with Jamie Green


In this interview, we get to know Jamie Green, a passionate advocate for the children and families of Muskegon, Michigan. After years in the classroom, Jamie now runs a daycare, where she focuses on creating a nurturing environment that supports not only child development but also community engagement and family support. Her dedication to fostering growth, both for the children and the families she serves, reflects her deep-rooted connection to Muskegon. Join us as we explore Jamie's journey, her insights on education, the community's well-being, and her vision for a brighter future for all.



INTERVIEW


What initially drew you to the teaching profession and why did you choose to spend your career in Muskegon?


Jamie: I was drawn to teaching as a child. For generations, my family has supported lifelong learning by modeling a love of reading, being educators, and school board members. My family even built learning facilities and spaces such as McLaughlin School and Camp Pendalouan. I was also a swimmer at the YMCA and MPS CO88 (the model was stronger swimmers helped teach the others). This gave me confidence and success at a young age, which became my passion for teaching others.


When I graduated from Schreiner University Kerrville, TX in 2009 with a Master’s of Education in Teaching & Highly Qualified in Early Childhood Education and Reading, there were few positions available. I applied to Hawai’i where my qualifications were highly desirable. I taught at Princess Nahienaena, Lahaina Maui for four incredible years before having to return home to Muskegon to help care for my family. I’ve worked for three local districts and made strong bonds with the students of the 231.


Currently, I own Growing Graduates Licensed Home Daycare in the Lakeside neighborhood and spend my extra time developing a Forest School, Play Based, PreK Kindergarten Readiness Curriculum which offers many new services to the families and children of Muskegon.


Over the years, how did you adapt your teaching methods to meet the changing needs of your students?


Jamie: I adapted my teaching methods in a wide variety of ways, with focus on building confidence, filling gaps in learning, and developing metacognition. I use Student Surveys and data driven brain based instruction. I teach students how to take a standardized test and how to develop a Sense of Self via metacognition strategies. The goal is a student-led classroom with Reciprocal Learning occurring naturally.


For my transition back home, I modified lessons, topics, and much curriculum to meet the high levels of trauma and the impact it has on learning. With an average Aces Score of 4 in Muskegon County (meaning our children have an average of 4 out of 10 major traumas before age 18), I focused on directly teaching “Taking Care of Self” to help learners practice ways to cope that were more productive and meaningful to academic success.


What was the most rewarding part of being a teacher and what moments stand out as highlights in your career?


Jamie: The most rewarding part of being a teacher is definitely bittersweet! All the hard work is accomplished together- then I have to let go and hope! I’ve had the privilege of watching 17 years of students grow up to be compassionate stewards, to be Self Aware, and happy; to thrive at what they chose. I especially love when they reach out, send a message sharing funny memories- the good and the bad, or just checking in.


The highlights have been when all the pieces fall into place, when the admin trusts you as an Educator by supporting your educational philosophies and the Growth scores come in- my students blew past the goals repeatedly! The confidence that builds as a learning community is priceless and carries in them today. I see evidence as they graduate and move on to the next stage of life. Their tenacity empowers me!


How did you engage with students who were struggling academically/personally and what strategies did you find most effective?


Jamie: As my favorite professor taught me, I Build The Bond and TRUST them from the very start by meeting them where they are, academically and personally. This can be anything from eating breakfast together, being an active listener, an advocate, and teaching them about learning styles, brain research, and how Hierarchy of Needs and trauma impact their learning needs. Building trust by modeling, then pulling the scaffolding away, letting them TALK, collaborate, and make mistakes is ongoing for Metacognition. Fun is essential!


My favorite strategy that has built bonds is creating class song lists together which we utilize for different purposes, like transitions. For the end of the week, we said goodbye with the same song, no matter grade level- “See You Again” by Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth. They’d sing their hearts out, leaving school with a trust that someone at school cared about them and I couldn’t wait to see them each week!



In what ways did the Muskegon community support/influence your work as an educator?


Jamie: The quality of the schools in Muskegon influenced me to be a better Advocate for my students. I spoke often about the need for 1:1 devices, rampant child abuse, and the lack of instruction that occurs because many of our students are in survival mode. I was compelled to follow a lifelong dream- the forest school. I believe our kids need to be outside more, having fun and exploring what interests them.


What do you believe are the biggest challenges facing teachers today compared to when you started your career?


Jamie: Technology is the biggest obstacle today compared to when I started my career. It’s challenging to keep up, but teaching during covid and being quarantined eight times with first graders taught me I am capable of being effective, as long as I stay willing to learn!



Now that you’ve retired, how do you reflect on your impact as a teacher and what legacy do you hope to have left behind in your students' lives?



Jamie: I am currently a certified teacher in Michigan and Hawai’i & a licensed daycare provider. I plan to continue to serve the needs of Muskegon families for years to come. I reflect on my impact as a teacher by writing, journaling, and conversation with cohorts. When students reach out, I often ask “What do you remember?” I reflect through their experience. As far as my legacy, I hope my students take away these three things: Inclusion, “Do The Right Thing”, and that I was an Advocate for Children before anything else.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page