top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Rapper 500 Leo Makes His First Appearance In Digital Magazine!

In the heart of Muskegon, MI a rising star is making waves in the rap scene. Meet 500 Leo, an artist whose magnetic presence and raw talent have garnered attention far beyond the shores of Lake Michigan. With his unique blend of lyrical prowess and authentic storytelling, 500 Leo is carving out his own lane in the music industry. I'm more than happy to be one of the first to interview him so without further delay meet 500 Leo!


Checkout the digital magazine spread of our interview here! 🔥🙏🏾


INTERVIEW


Considering there's a lot of rappers coming out of Muskegon,MI. What makes you unique?


500 Leo: There is definitely a lot of talented rappers from Muskegon and I understand they do try to put us all in one bubble, but I don’t believe that there is a lot of artist from Muskegon and I feel that, that is the thing that separates me from the rest of Muskegon rappers I came in really knowing the artistry of rap and I had a love for it from the start.


Can you list the individuals that inspire you the most musically and how their sound influenced you?


500 Leo: There are a lot of people that influenced me to be the artist I am today but if I had to say I would start with Ju Marino (RIP) and 76 Vosso (RIP) every bar that they spit always gave me chills to the bone but there are a lot more like Lewis Blow (Sam Rawsteen) a Muskegon native that showed me what it was like to be a rapper to start with and a few mainstreams like lil Wayne, Jeezy, Gucci, Gotti, Boosie, Webbie, The Game, Starlito, and Jay Z I feel as though all these guys I named take a part in how my style as developed today cause I watched them before my career and even all the way through it.


What are some stereotypes about rappers that you hate the most?


500 Leo: One big stereotype I hate about rappers is that we all are promoting what we are talking about music is a artistry and just because you bring what you been through to light does not mean that I am promoting it, it just means I’m showing you what I have been through in the best creative way I can without you having to live through it yourself.


Imagine you're going on a world tour and need someone to open up the shows for you. Who are you choosing and why?


500 Leo: If I’m going on a world tour and I had to have a artist open up it’s definitely going to be Bfb Da Packman his presence in the game right now is so different and so exhilarating that is resonates with everybody that hears his music I know he ah turn me up along with the crowd for a few crazy shows.


Outside of being an artist, what brings you happiness?


500 Leo: Outside of music I’m almost a Weeb that’s a black person that likes anime lol I’m also a game head but i love being with my puppy Broly and my family really I’m big on family ties.


Do you plan to release a music video soon? If so, for what song?


500 Leo: I do plan on releasing multiple videos real soon I haven’t figured which song is gonna come first but in the past few years I’ve only done 2 videos just a bunch of songs so I know I’m well over due for some visual content I’m just a camera shy type of guy I guess.

There's constant debate about a list of the best rappers from Muskegon. What are your thoughts on this matter?


500 Leo:They bring up the best in Muskegon all the time and make a list every time they do it. To me it ain’t nun but a popularity contest all you gotta do to get yo name on there is have your name go around this small city a few times now boom you all a sudden one of the top rappers. I just feel them list don’t matter we need to get em all together and find out from there.


If you could donate $10k to any charity if your choice, what kind of charity would it be and why?


500 Leo: If I could donate to a charity if would probably be something involving children that were unfortunate enough to lose there parents or just not have them as a whole I was fortunate enough to have my moms in my life 100% but I know a lot of people who didn’t and I see what it did to them so I would love to help people like that.


Have you ever had moments of doubt when it comes to your talent? If so how do you cope with it?


500 Leo: I honestly have had a lot of moments of doubt the older I get I feel the further away I get from my goal which is to be up there with the greats of the rap game but I always remember nobody ever did it over night and you only get what you put out I know I have taken a lot of breaks and hiatuses through out my career so I just always remember that I got every chance to be great I gotta just believe in my self and bet on my self at the same time.


What advice do you have for your fellow artist in Muskegon and globally?


500 Leo: For Muskegon artist all I can say is it only takes one song we a small city that nobody in Michigan barely knew at one point in the growth of our era we slowly but surely have been putting the city on the map little by little it just take one song we gotta just push through the doors whether it take one of us or all of us. Globally I would say bet on yourself cause the odds always in your favor you got everything to gain and nothing to lose and even if you don’t make it you left your mark and still gained something in the end.

How can you be reached for bookings and collaborations?


500 Leo: I can be reached for for all bookings through my booking email which is @bookingsforleo@gmail.com

Also you can contact my managers # which is 231-720-8446 but I also respond to all DMs on all socials ima humble guy just get with me and we can work ima always up for it.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page