top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Positive Vibration Fitness | Sofia Natasha Interview

Goal getter and show stopper explains Sofia Natasha so well. Owner of Positive Vibration Fitness (PFV) she can whip anyone into shape through the power of dancing. She teaches a variety of dance styles and isn’t afraid to get a little steamy with her choreography. So ladies if you want to learn a thing or two, trust me SHE’S IS YOUR GO TO! It was my pleasure to interview her at the beginning of this year. For updated information please check her website and social handles, enjoy!


What’s your training and background in dance?


Sofia: To start, I have been dancing all my life. I am a self-taught dancer. My mom would record my siblings and I, we would perform at local talent shows. Dance came natural to me. I was a part of multiple dance organizations. In college, I joined the Benedict College Marching Band of Distinction, Sweet Sensation Dance team. First I was a Tigerrette dancer because the band dancers didn't start tryouts and I needed to dance. Then when tryouts began, and I solidified my spot. I danced throughout my undergraduate years. After graduation, I became a Rochester Razorshark Dancer for 1 year. I wanted more! I became a certified CIZE Live Instructor by Shawn Tee and Zumba Instructor. Two years later, I started Positive Vibration Fitness, where you dance into your fitness goals. Not only do we workout, we perform and I host different events and I encourage my dance community to join. PVF is a great workout but we are encouraging participants to step out their comfort zone to build confidence. Everyday people are learning to dance and move like professionals. 

  

How long have you been an instructor and what styles of dance do you teach?


 Sofia: I have been instructing for 2 years. I teach group sessions, private session, wedding choreography and so much more. I teach Chakra Healing Movements, when you allow your body to speak for you. Confidence Booster, which is a heels class, geared to gain or maintain your confidence. I have taught African Dance: Pilolo dance (Ghana), Kwangwaru (Tanzania), Kizumba (Angola). I also teach hip-hop. I am still working on learning so much more. I honestly let my body take over. 




If a student was lagging behind the rest of the class, how would you handle him/her?

Sofia: At PVF we are a community of dancers. I break down the moves step by step. I show how you move your feet and then show how your hands become a part of the dance and then practice until we are confident. I like to move around within my class so I can model and guide, giving clients a one on one feel. Corrections are so subtle and everyone feels inclusive. I also energy my dance community to own their movements and be intentional.  



What are the most important traits a dancer should have?


Sofia: Confidence, Self-Awareness, Dedication, Creativity and Passion. 



Can you describe how you would go about developing a dance routine?


 Sofia: I start off by listening to the music a few times to hear the story or the message that needs to be conveyed. I pay attention to the beat and how it makes me feel. The hardest part for me is the first move. Once I feel I have confidently hit that first move then I allow my body to express the story. I also need a lot of inspirations so I study different dancers and people I admire and I create my personal story with the support and encouragement from others.   



What five words would describe you as Dance Choreographer?


Sofia:Inspiring, Creative, Passionate, Evolving and Humble


Describe the best performance you’ve ever put on, what did you learn from it?


Sofia: It was a performance in Rota, Spain. Ebaneza had a Hair Show/Fashion show and I performed a routine I choreographed to “Skin” by Rihanna. This was my first international performance without really realizing it. I was experiencing a completely different culture and I communicated who I was through dance. What made it my best performance was the realization of how music and dance connects us all. It is its own language. A language in which we all can understand and speak.      


 

How do you ensure you stay strong and fit enough to perform/Instruct?


Sofia: I work out at least 5 times a week. I walk my dog daily and she loves to run. Her and I race a lot on our walks. She really keeps me fit. I also monitor my eating habits and my spiritual health. I listen to my body and adhere to what it is telling me. It tells me to workout, dance, relax, realign.  



What motivates you to continue on in the world of dance?


Sofia: This is one of the ways I communicate. These are my emotions which drives my passion and my personal goals. There are a few things I want and I will not reach those goals if I stop now. 



How can you be reached for booking?


Sofia: For bookings you can email PVFitnesscomapny@gmail.com or Call (585)- 290-8788





Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page