top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Lewie Saint Drops A New Single + Tell All Interview!

Earlier this year, we had the pleasure of speaking with the dynamic recording artist Lewie Saint, whose vocal talent caught the attention of many in his interview with Treal City earlier this year. Since then, Lewie has released his first official recorded project called "Ready For Ya." You can check it out here! In this candid tell-all interview, Lewie opens up about his turbulent journey of growing up without his mother, time in prison and his struggles with compulsive sexual behavior following his release plus more! Now, with a renewed focus on personal growth and a fresh musical direction, Lewie is set to elevate his career and make meaningful changes in his life. Join us as we explore his past experiences, current challenges, and the promising future he's working toward.



INTERVIEW


Can you share a bit about your early life in Muskegon and the influences that shaped you growing up?


Lewie Saint: My early life in Muskegon ain't simple at all. People only got half my upbringing in story form but they don't know bout the secrets, lies, or the behind the closed doors of my household. I grew up in my grandparents home on 2917 Fifth Street in Muskegon Heights, where a lot of my decision making began. People think they know me but only get a version of who I am. Now some may innerstand my entire life (in which I'll expose) but others will ridicule me for being honest.


My life ain't a story, it could be a movie but the truth about Lewie goes like this:


I went through two forms of molestation as a child and teen. I kept secret because even at 7 I was taught to keep my mouth shut so I did. But them same teachings made me vow to the same methods when dealing with my choices. I HATED Life because I knew something was off in my life or missing when I realized I didn't have a mother (who in which was killed in 1996 - 17 year old girl from the heights, run over by a car during her junior year in heights school.) I was 2 but I had to hear lies to cover up truths about my grandfather & her real relationship - he put her out and she got killed.


I became that same kid who did what he was told by the book, but to be honest I feared being alone. So when my second family ( cause I was adopted) would come by I held all they secrets, because we did what kids did - yall know the games ( momma & daddy, hide & go get it). As I got older I realized we thought it was fun until it traumatized us! When your biggest fears is that it could get exposed. I didn't tell about the minister at the church because I hated how it felt to be vulnerable and powerless, I jus vowed to myself that no matter what's going on being weak ain't the option.



What led to your incarceration, and how did that experience impact you both personally and creatively?


Lewie Saint: Going into prison in 2011 I wasn't in the best health mentally or spiritually but physically I used my frustrations out on whoever. Now I wasn't known to be a tuff guy but it's ni**as from the wood that know what I was capable of, with me it wasn't about pistols and gun play - it's hands & feet. I was bullied mentally most of my life so I hated my era, ni**as didn't know the I was raised to be bold but don't expose your secrets. I used that for pain, hurt, resentment,household issues, secrets,lies, some guilt. Yet society tells you to not be remorseful -no matter how solid your heart or true intentions may be. So for years I lied to fit in crowds that weren't my crowd, but different crowds taught me how to blend in so I never fitted in with anybody. I was homeless - didn't have friends because they thought I was weird ( not knowing my story) and they think I'm weird now.


For the people that want to know why I went to prison - robbed a white boy with a BB gun hoping to get caught because I was tired of lying bout not needing help (but too stubborn to face people that could of saved me from my struggles). So I went to prison (as terrified as I was) and had to adapt fast! Get out of scary mode! I had to use the same things that caused trauma all my life to get through those 11 years. Fights, wars, 2 near death experiences - but it was always something that got me out of it. I had more love and respect, my name meant something to people until it didn't. Anybody can research me from any joint they'll say the same sh*t (Lewie, L, God Body, Lewis X). I wasn't no b*tch but I stayed to myself. I gave game, laughter and the many versions of me EXCEPT the coward. The crying at night or the times I couldn't be on scene - they won't paint that image of me because I never showed it.


So How did it impact me personally or creatively? I learned that I didn't know who I wanted to be until I realized I'm all those ni**as. It wasn't healthy, so now I choose to just be Lewie Saint the singer.


During your time in prison, what were some of the most challenging moments, and how did you overcome them?


Lewie Saint: Some of my most challenging moments were when it was time to make decisions that either helped me get out or stay in. I was choosing ni**as I met in prison because I stood on business. See I had nothing and nobody (in my head) outside them walls but it took the additional 6 years to get me to realize I was choosing to trap myself. Blinded by my own thoughts of thinking I was a solid ni**a cause I had a lil value to ni**as doing the same sh*t, same goal or no goal at all. I became a fool and chose to stop being one and I got out with 6 months on parole.


How did your time away change your perspective on life and your approach to your music?


Lewie Saint: So because I had a high assaulting history (assault on 3 prison officials), I had to be detained in segregation. I saw the worst stuff and any man would be forced to take a look at his condition to change. From watching ni**as try to kill themselves, a dude jumped off the 4th gallery in quenteen - the list can go on! There were fights, stabbings, lock & sock action but it was normal to us. So the time I spent in segregation I wrote music and poetry. I wrote books and read different things that changed my style in music forever!



Since your release, how has your outlook on love and relationships evolved?


Lewie Saint: TO BE HONEST, I came home and hopped in the bed with so many women I lost track. From chicks I always wanted to hunch on, to females I never thought I could get close to. It raised more confidence in me when I learned what gets women going.


I haven't had a issue with any women I ever laid with sensually, because I do what needs to be done. I pay attention to women because I always hated street ni**as. I'm a lover, I'm quiet, and peaceful. Yet situations, circumstances, pressure from wanting to be seen and noticed by a woman makes a boy adopt grown man sh*t. So when the question of my love life? Unfortunately I probably broke a lot of hearts. My exes expectations of me didn't match what I spoke. I have the tools to be a great man for a woman but I wasn't ready to commit until sh*t started getting tough.


I was homeless again, walking everywhere - I hated it! So throughout all my playing around, giving my energy to everybody, I decided to finally let a woman get me at 80% because let's be honest ain't nobody 100%. It's been challenging but I'm better with how I express myself because I grew from being a pretender with my feelings or my views.


What role did music play in your healing and reintegration process after prison?


Lewie Saint: I realized how talented some guys were in prison and how everybody would spit they songs or raps out the cages. It made me sing and showcase my talent! I was always running to the yard with a new song, so when I came home I searched for the only man ( I still care to this day) my brother Anthony "Sunni Loc" Keysour. Our relationship go back 15 year, he was the first to ever record "Jlove" known as Lewie Saint now! I got albums recorded that sat on the shelf for 15 years, I hated it but I came with a more adult vibe rapping too. I still struggled after coming home even with my music career, because being a singer and having to deal with jealous ni**as or frustrated women who won't/don't support my growth. Some couldn't see past their hurt so I had to make change! I started reaching back to correct that pain I caused because I didn't want my bs to be the last taste on they mind. Even with my accomplishments in doing so - I still got a portion of love (and not when it mattered). So music truly became an outlet, hence the single "Ready For Ya".


I'm apologizing to every woman I hurt but I wrote it to remind 1 woman how I truly feel about her and I know that sometimes I don't always show it.


How has your experience influenced the themes and messages in your recent work?


Lewie Saint: I became a person who tried to live by what I write. I wanted my songs, poetry or whatever to be as close to my real life.


What prompted you to leave Muskegon, and how has the change in environment influenced your music and personal growth?


Lewie Saint: Leaving Muskegon was personal, I can't be bitter. Lol However I left because I didn't get the recognition I felt I earned from being in prison for so long, and what I produced for free. People knew me as Lewis before prison, assuming I would be the same ni**a and for some they were right! I let people dictate what I should allow, and one of them things were allowing people to not take me serious. This is until I use violence to get your attention, so I had to leave.


Being where I am now, I've already met artist whose ready to work! FettyBanks repping Florida, look out for him and Julz Santana ( two local rapper in Battle Creek artist, just to drop a couple names). Moving expanded my business mindset and I create on my own terms, forcing me to put my integrity to the test. I can say it's shaping the next version I was destined to be, (for me and the elevation of my music).


Do you still feel a connection to Muskegon? How does the city influence your identity as an artist, if at all?


Lewie Saint: I am the Prince of Muskegon! I come flaws and all because until a ni**a got more respect than my father, he the King of it period. JOHN E. STEWART. SO I AM ALL OF MUSKEGON.


MY MUSIC IS BECAUSE OF MUSKEGON! It's also the reason I had to elevate.


How have your relationships with family and friends changed since your time in prison?


Lewie Saint: I got people I love left behind bars still and I've tried to stay on top of business utilizing tools. Some of them still try to reach out to me to grind, yet being homeless and pretending to be coming up (but still stuck at square 1) had me mentally broken. Nobody knew because I hide every feeling that's weak or vulnerable (unless I'm with certain family that I confide in). That's why leaving was so important.


I don't respect a lot of ni**as in muskegon no more and I understand why I never fit in with ni**as. Everybody tough, but don't respect that a scary person can unalive people too. That's why I love that Gram brought street boxing back! Some of y'all need to put them guns down and fight! Walk away if u lose and come back. In organized fights, nobody have to lose a loved one - that's RAW UNCUT REAL RESPECT!


What has been the most surprising or unexpected part of your journey since your release?


Lewie Saint: HAVING TO FACE MY PAST... By ambush, I was forced to talk about my traumas, that's the reason why I talk this way. I've also done more apologizing this year than any years in my 30 years of living. I fought my father and pulled a 9 milli on him over a disagreement. For the first time in my life I realized that if I was willing to unalive my father for a purpose of respect, nobody in muskegon was safe.


So I went around angry/mad at myself, holding in a lot of pressure of trying to manage being Lewie Saint (the Lewie I'm trying to be in control of). I've never been great at much that was good (secretly) because I was a great liar, manipulator, deceiver. One little thing I was taught at 7, keep your mouth shut! I learned where that sh*t came from.


Small story: One day my cousin Rod was wanted by the police and I was like 5. The police kicked in my step grandmother's house door, we all ran up stairs! I hid like what I see everybody doing but ni**a I'm baby. So when the police spot me they ask me where he is but I'm hesitant. Three times he asked till I finally point to where he was (I felt like a rat). I hated being in that house cause I sent him away, so that's why I never opened my mouth to nothing anymore. I lie instead - when I learned where I adopted that attitude, I wanted to be better at the truth.


Looking back, what advice would you give to your younger self or to others who may be facing similar challenges?


Lewie Saint: To my younger self, I'd tell him to go back to that place when you only looked for your mother's approval. What I mean is, remember how you would watch what you say because u didn't want your mother to be disappointed in you? Keep your mind on that, because them nights you cried, (wishing she was beside you) it carried you to think good and do good in order to be good.


To others who might be facing similar challenges, I'd say stop being worried about what people might think. If you think too hard you're going to only go off what they think. Don't worry bout what people say because they don't know what affects your life or what it took for you to still push through. We ain't all the same, but everybody got 1 thing we all have in common...A story.



What are your hopes for the future, both in your personal life and your music career?


Lewie Saint: My Hope is that people see me differently from how I've portrayed myself or presented myself in the past. I'm a 30 year old man who loves everyone. Someone who shows respect, love and patience. I hope my career takes off sooner because of my new connections and networking through Drama DA Don - he introduced me to the Detroit Kulture who put my single out on 88.1 Detroit Kulture Radio Station.


I found a voice with a group of men and some beautiful women who embrace me back. I've established genuine connections out in Florida with people that wont pass judgement on me - just seeing what I bring to the table, not another story.


So I hope this be a lesson to the people I know back home that everybody got a story, but it shouldn't affect the choices. Give a person his or her respect for changing and that's as an artist or person.


Are there any specific messages or causes you want to champion through your music now and how can you be reached for bookings?


Lewie Saint: To those who supported me, respected my talent, carried me mentally and was there for me completely - you kno who you are. All of you served a purpose in my life! Through the highs or low stages in my life, you all shaped who I'm NOW deciding to be as a man (I just want peace and respect). I want to be an activist for kids with mental health issues. Kids who deal with trauma and feels like nobody understands them. I've had 20 personalities throughout my lifetime! So I know what it's like to pretend to be strong when you need help.


I'm also trying to manifest a podcast to bring 6 other men that is willing to be blunt about their challenges and how we need to guide the next generation of our people. I think the readers and editor for putting so much time into crafting this message. This is the RAW & UNCUT Version of Lewie Saint. I call it "The Truth About Lewie."




Email: Mr.saint78lewie@gmail.com



Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page