top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Let's Talk About Our Rights With Reuben Crosby!

In a captivating conversation, we sit down with Reuben Crosby, a dynamic community activist and singer-songwriter from Muskegon, whose vibrant music and tireless advocacy are reshaping lives and empowering communities. Reuben not only uses his musical talent to inspire but also dedicates himself to educating people about their rights within the U.S. Join us as we explore how his unique blend of artistry and activism is driving meaningful change.



INTERVIEW


How did your upbringing in Muskegon shape the person you are today, both as an artist and as an individual?


Reuben: My upbringing in Muskegon shape the person I am by coming up in just a competitive atmosphere. Personally, I became the best at what I do when I was real young, but I also realize that didn’t matter because we breed greatness from my city. So it’s always been about being witty and standing out with a timeless message and fun!


This allowed me to become a much more serious person in life, not just the dreamer - but the innovator and the motivator. I always look for a challenge and I never go for the easy song. The same with my life I love a good challenge.



What motivated you to get involved in activism, particularly in advocating for the rights of those on trial in Muskegon?



Reuben: What motivated me was, finding out that there is a difference between being a US Citizen and a State National. Fully grasping the purpose for Article VI and the Surpremecy Clause. Also finding out about The Cestui Que Vie Act of 1666, and how they pronounce all men and women dead and lost beyond the seas in which the state would take over their estates as if it were probate until they return to claim possession…Oh or maybe finding out that the Moors are descendants of the ancient Moabites and Jesus’s grandmother was a Moabite through genealogy.


Then, realizing the 1st country to ever recognize the United States as an actual country was the Moorish empire; who signed the Peace and Friendship, Treaty in 1786, (otherwise United States would still be a chess club). How about Consumer & Trust Law or Public Law 73-10? Or “Trading With The Enemy Act”. Then, finding out that anyone who uses Paper fiat or transactions involving such etc is considered a bank and uniform commercial codes apply to them just as they do to the corporations or business. Or THE RIGHT, to rescission…Yeah, these things helped because after researching these historical events I realized that there is a big part of life that society systematically keeps the world uneducated from and I’m here to shed light.



How has your role as a father influenced your views on justice and community involvement?


Reuben: When I became a father it came with an immediate need (or feeling) to oversee things that I am connected to. This transitioned into my actual life in pursuit of my happiness. That happiness just so happens to include the better well being of others as it pertains to their rights and nuances that need awareness brought to them.


There’s always a direct correlation between “The Law” and “Your Rights". I refer to one of my favorite quotes from Thomas Jefferson:


"Ignorance to the law is no excuse,

if you don't know your rights you have none.

Those who hope to be both ignorant and free hoping for something that has never been and never will be."


- Thomas Jefferson


This is a quote from more than a historical figure.

It’s from a man who knew of the nuances created by our failure to study the correlations between the Law & our rights. Equity included.


Can you share a bit about your experience with "Channel 1" and how it has impacted your life outside of your artistic work?


Reuben: I’ll just say ”change the channel”.



What are some of the biggest challenges you’ve faced in balancing your activism, career in the arts, and personal life?


Reuben: Some of the biggest challenges I’ve faced on my journey would be remaining collaborative.

My knowledge base really makes me hesitant when working on songs with others. Artist like Razor Da Boss can get wildly creative and it’s not a bad thing, but I’ve got to have some directional control and input in the song.


Everything’s got to mean something, or make listeners FEEL something…You feel me? Power in the tongue. That doesn’t mean I can’t be witty and have fun though. You’d be surprised how some of my songs come to mind.


It’s more than music, to me - it’s a chance to leave a piece of myself here for the world to be continuously influenced upon my death/ascension. I expect similar values or common grounds - een down to my acting roles, every role must be relatable.



There’s for sure this part of me that knows too much,

But this is the 1st lesson I learned as an activist (You can know too much.) Still, it’s the fact that people just want answers, like instantly! That’s a two edged sword from the eyes of an activist (I’d say) because we all have a free will, yet our will is influenced internally by what we learn.


Then the conversation will go into how lazy we are as a people to become more intelligent. People read, but what are you reading? Are you comprehending and carrying over the lesson into real time, or was it just a good read? I read what’s relevant for me to move forward while trying to be a positive solution based Leader. Am I perfect? No, but if I ask you if you understand Color of Law or UCC and you say, “NO”, then you may want to hear my perspective and understand my perception. The only side of most swords that gets sharpen is the side for “a sense of urgency”. We gotta have the intelligence side sharp too. So it's important to study Law, Human Rights and Case Laws. Comparing scripture to me means more than a Bible because that same Bible says OBEY THE LAWS OF THE LAND. So why not know your rights and constitutional customs? Its common sense for common Law. Most people don’t realize LAW means “Land-Air-Water” but they believe they have dominion.



How do you instill the values of justice and creativity in your children, and what do you hope they learn from your work?


Reuben: Well, I have 1(one) child and personally, I don't have to instill those values, rather than bring awareness to what’s already within her. Nonetheless, Melody knows more economically than most adults already. She understands debt, trust Law, contracts, paper FIAT. Spiritually, the lil girl be teaching me through her humility with her understanding and patience. Repeated mistakes are not common with her - it doesn’t take her long to learn right from wrong either. That’s when I know something is up!


Nonetheless, I hope she learns that (as God as my witness) she is the most excellent-beautiful highest form of Law walking this earth. I want her to try her best to be an example of that on a daily basis.


She has a mantra and foundational aspirations that I’ve seeded her with since she was 2 years old and it goes:


"I am smart. I am beautiful. I will change the world by: dreaming BIG, working hard and putting God 1st. God is in me and everyone else. Also, in the world itself. Believe with all my heart, I can get what I desire. An education can take me places and I will try to always be kind to others and treat others how I want to be treated. I will smile and be happy."



Can you describe a pivotal moment in your life that significantly influenced your path in activism or the arts?


Reuben: •The Activism would be during the George Floyd protesting! I led a march around the county building ( with some others as well). It occurred in the later evening of the same day that there was an earlier march - but the bread and butter came when it ended up in front of the “Muskegon County Building”.


I did some real time public speaking - I’ve always been good with a microphone and words. Yet to convert my knowledge base into anything without rhythmic value in a moment's instance and have a crowd that felt highly understanding of my articulation...Just felt so right that day!


For real, I spoke on some deep sh!t, and HuckLive was there. I have great highlights of that speaking engagement from his recording(s). Yes, he is always on the scene. You should interview Huck. The Arts would be Eric “PL12” Bailey. I remember when I recorded a song at his house from Ron Isley brother sample. The record was amazing enough, but then he picked up a guitar with just three strings and a solo throughout my song add more flavor on the production side. I hadn’t even known him to play guitar play so well.


It transformed my artistry because this is the same man who influence me so greatly to pick up instruments with my first piano. I saw him playing the piano at a coffee shop on Maffett Street in Muskegon Heights in like 2004. Her piano still sits there to this day and the song was lovers and friends by Usher and Lil Jon. I've been playing piano ever since in balled/jazz format!


At the time I have received a major distribution deal with divisions of Universal Music Groups and it made me realize how serious it was that I grow. I ended up, dropping the distribution deal for creative expression reasons, but the lesson that I learned in that studio session was written across my heart, so I looked for new ways to be an artist. This is why I’m doing a lot of acting which is going quite well. Rest in Paradise to one of the greatest producers to come out of West Michigan. We Soo Focused Godz 4L.


What do you consider your greatest personal achievement, and how does it reflect who you are today?


Reuben: I don’t think I have reached that milestone just yet. And to be honest, I dream so big and accomplish so many things because of my willingness to ”try”, that I may have to answer that on my death-bed. Maybe perhaps at the end of this year I’ll have an update, Shona.



How do you maintain your passion and energy in your work and activism, especially when facing obstacles?


Reuben: By being patient with myself, and time to myself, mainly. Also turning to those few individuals who I can talk to about the nuances systematically and economically in Muskegon. To be able to fellowship while being solution based;Truthfully, I’d say it keeps me on my toes, rolling with the punches and continuously understanding the task ahead of me. To be prepared often means to accept what comes and to know when, and when-not ACT. It’s hard too, but I’m patient, focused and willing enough to get it right. F*ck an obstacle.



What are your hopes and dreams for the future, both for yourself and for your community in Muskegon?


Reuben: My hopes and dreams for myself and my community is to see growth in economic. Also understanding and gain enough attention to help 50% (if not more) of the community to become more competent in their rights by reaching the age of majority. Society has men and women spendIng 70% of their life in a workplace that offers an indebted instrument in return for their labor and energy. About 90% of the general public don’t realize that they can negotiate to be paid in a different currency or any tender for that matter. Lawfully there's NO lawful money in rotation. Everything currently moves through Trust Law.



I want for the kids to be able to experience life like we did when we were younger in Muskegon County. The fun, the jump ropes, bike rides and wheelies, the 3 block radius hide and seek games, the festivals and concerts free from violence, Heights 5 on 5 Basketball tournament, the care free vibes a kid deserves.

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page