top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview With The Queen Of Hair Highlights & Color Transitions Ashley Buffum

Discover the magic touch of Ashley Buffum, the professional hairstylist redefining beauty in Grand Rapids, MI. With an unparalleled skill set, Ashley specializes in not only crafting stunning hairstyles but also in creating a seamless experience for her clients, especially the little ones. Renowned for her expertise in highlights and hair color transformations, Ashley's artistry goes beyond mere aesthetics, as she prioritizes the health and integrity of her clients' hair, ensuring vibrant results without compromising on quality. Dive into the world of effortless style and haircare mastery with Ashley Buffum, where every visit promises a transformative journey without the fear of damage or loss.



INTERVIEW


How old were you when you fell in love with hair styling, and do you remember the first client you styled professionally?


Ashley: I was about 15 when I started cosmetology school and I fell in love with the industry pretty quickly! Unfortunately I don’t remember the first client I styled but I’m sure it was a supportive friend or family member.

Ashley dyes and styles young kids hair amazingly as well!

I personally consider you the "Highlight Queen", what influenced you to evolve your highlighting techniques?


Ashley: Once I started getting confident and growing my skill in lightening hair I realized how fun it really is! I love that it’s always different on every client but the transformations are always so good.. sometimes it takes a couple sessions to get people where they want to be but, trusting the process and the knowledge I have typically gets us there.


Client Before & After

Where did you receive your training and what year did you become certified?


Ashley: I became a licensed cosmetologist in 2015 quickly after I graduated from Nuvo College of Cosmetology.


Client Before & After

What's the most rememberable moment you had with a client?


Ashley: I don’t think I can pin point to one specific moment because each connection I make with my clients are memorable and all so different that they aren’t really comparable.


That is why it's the best, I can have so many different moments with each person. I’ve been through, marriage,divorce,first time moms, moms who have lost a child, cancer or health diagnosis and remission. I’ve been through so much with each person and I strive to stay in the place so they can come and feel comfortable with me to share those good and bad moments of life.



What's the most rememberable moment you had with a client?


Ashley: My ultimate goal is to make people feel confident and their best self. I strive to give clients a safe space. I love making connections and friendships along the way! 💖


The best way to reach me is on Instagram @ash.painted.hair

1 comment

1 Comment

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

LOVE ASHLEY! She takes great care of my hair! 🖤

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page