top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview with Recording Artist - hippie.snooks

Updated: Apr 6, 2020

Poet,artist and business owner to Melodic Harmony Blends! She has multuple skills down pack right?! The artist by the name hippie.snooks isn't your ordninary lady! I was excited to chat with the creator of the EP Poetry & Vibes! interviewing her was a joy! Below is a peek inside the mind of the Queen of Poetry & Vibes!


How long have you been in the music game and how did you get started in the first place?


hippi.snooks; "I've been in the music game for a little over four years. I got started when I was younger, writing poetry and always participating in anything musical."


Have you suffered any ‘resistance’ or skepticism from within the industry, or from other artists?


hippie.snooks: "Oh yeah! I'm a plus size woman in the music industry and just my refusal to follow the leader! I've always been a rebel and wanting to prove there is more than one way to skin a cat. "


When it comes to your song writing process. What usually comes first the lyrics or instrumentals?


hippie.snooks:"The instrumental comes first. I like to try to fell what the beat is saying, and see if I can put it into words. It's a collaboration for me."




Why did you choose the name Hippie Snooks?


hippie.snooks: "Okay! So back when I was 19, when Jersey Shore was a big thing. I was always called the black Snookie, So boom Snooks.Then a year or so later I started listening to a lot of Wiz Khalifa, Kid Cudi,Mac Miller, ASAP Rocky,Drake, J.Cole, and Kendrick Lamar. I started to mellow out and look at the world through more spiritual eyes, then boom Hippie. Now I'm hippie.snooks all lower cased. Lower cased to show humility and the period to signify the growth I experienced. Also to let people know hippie and snooks are two different sides of me."


What aspect of yourself do you feel make you standout as an artist?


hippie.snooks: "What makes me standout is that there is no one who sounds like me.I've never heard anyone with a voice like mine. My rapping voice doesn't match my speaking voice. My flow is a combination of so many different flows, you never know how Ima come on the track. But my voice gets them everytime!"


What was the toughest part with putting together your EP Poetry & Vibes?


hippie.snooks:" Just putting it out there. I did a lot of experimenting with this EP.I wanted to show everyside of me to the world and that vulnerbility was scary. I remembered that feeling is the reason why I created Poetry & Vibes, this was me not giving into the fear of not being accepted for me."


Which one do you prefer most, studio recording or performing live and why?


hippie.snooks: "That's a tough one. I love the creative process of recording. Just trying things,laughing at terrible ideas - high fiving for great ideas. But on stage, under those lights and just seeing the crowd vibingb with you is amazing. Especially when they sing the words.I'm going to say it's a tie.I love them both equally. Any space where positive vibes can be transferred."


Has your authenticity ever been questioned as an artist? If so, how do you handle it?

hippie.snooks: "People tell me all the time how I am the person my music portrays. I'm super transparent, what you see is what you get. Don't expect more or less, this is it! I'm legit of a kind!"




Are there any artist you are currently working with, or want to work with?


hippie.snooks: "AIR! She is my partner in crime! We met in October and been moving ever since. Shoutout to Moody Chango making killer beats and his flow is such a vibe., Jay Rich got them bars, his word play is icy, Kimmy R$CH got them bars, too with s heavy hitta style! I want to work with anybody who wants to vibe and create masterpieces in Dallas. I have a playlist on spotify called Mood.I would love to work with every artist featured on it. Every artist is an artist I've met, seen, or from Dallas."


What can readers expect from Hippie Snooks in the near future? How can you be reached for booking?


hippie.snooks:"Just expect more dope vibes, expect more vulnerability,ecpect more silliness, expect more pot smoking, expect me to live my life ot the fullest.Expect me to continue to grow into myself."

Booking: Imacduh@gmail.com

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page