top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview With Professional Hairstylist La'Coya Ware

Hairstylists are the creative wizards behind your hairdo, blending artistry with technical know-how. They don't just cut and style; they sculpt confidence and self-expression. Their dedication makes them the unsung heroes of personal style.


I got the chance to chat with Professional hairstylist La'Coya Ware whose also a certified Xtreme Hip Hop and Burn instructor located in Muskegon,MI. After our interview I felt inspired to keep doing the things I love, such as blogging.


Thank you La'Coya for your time and energy, may you continue helping others feel beautiful inside and out!


Everyone meet La'Coya!


What education and training have you undergone to become a hairstylist?


La'Coya: I graduated from NUVO College of Cosmetology in 2014. After receiving my license, I started investing in myself through online classes to dive deeper into things I was more interested in. (Sew ins, ponytails, Quickweaves etc.)


How long have you worked in the hair industry?


La'Coya: I’ve been in the hair industry for 15+ years. Licensed for 9 of those years.


Are there any styles you can practically do in your sleep at this point?



La'Coya: Sew ins and ponytails can be done in my sleep. It’s to the point where if I do anything different my loyal clients notice.


You're also a certified Xtreme Hip Hop and Burn instructor. Can you explain exactly what that is?


La'Coya: Yes I am certified in Xtreme Hip Hop and Xtreme Burn. Xtreme Hip Hop is a step aerobics class where we step to different genres of music on a step platform board burning anywhere between 300-700+ calories while having fun! Xtreme Burn is the exact same thing just more cardio movements and no boards. Everything is body weight with Xtreme Burn.



How do you balance both career paths without reaching burnout?


La'Coya: For the most part I’m passionate in both areas so I never experience burn out. When I’m behind the chair, I’m sharing opportunities about health and what I do in that field and vice versa when I’m instructing Xtreme classes. I make people look and feel good all around and that’s what keeps me going. I love what I do.

Are there any celebrities hair you wish to style one day?


La'Coya: No. My clients are my celebrity clients because that’s how they’re gonna feel after they get out of my chair. It’s deeper than money and fame for me. I’m past that point in my career.


How can you be reached for bookings?


La'Coya: I can be reached for appointments through www.bosssavagebeauty.comwww.bosssavagebeauty.com or class bookings through www.xtremehiphopwithcoya.as.me










Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page