top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview with Professional Choreographer Ma'Kaylia Jackson


Across the globe there's a plethora of dance styles that influences us as a society. Which are your favorite or which ones has the biggest influence on you?



Professional Choreographer Ma'Kaylia Jackson

People like Ma'Kaylia Jackson is deemed a hero for someone like myself (loves to dance but lack the coordination skills). With a golden reputation as a dancer and professional choreographer, it's only a matter of time before she goes international! I got a chance to chat with Ma'Kaylia about her love for dance and it went a little something like this:


When did you start dancing?


Ma'Kaylia: I could always dance since I could stand up. Learned cheer styled dances around 6/7. I started learning little bits of choreography from music videos around 15/16. My second year of college

, 2015, is when I started to take it more seriously joining my dance organization, Diversion Dance Troupe, at Eastern Michigan University.


At what point in life did you decide to take it serious?


Ma'Kaylia: At the time I chose dance I was in school and my grandmother had just passed, so the loss of her made continuing school a battle. I began training outside my dance organization. It was unfortunately I couldn’t afford both at the time, and that is when I made my decision.




Who in the dance world inspires you the most?


Ma'Kaylia: It would be my best friend who inspires me to keep going. I’m not as active as I wanna be right now, but to have someone who sees a vision, the same as you and continuously encourages you is the most inspiring thing I could probably have in my life right now.


If you could create choreography for anyone, who would it be and why?


Ma'Kaylia: I would want to create for Teyana Taylor. I honestly I would want to work with her period. She is an inspiration in all fields that she works whether it be dance, creative direction, or musically. She has a raw boyish style that I want to embody as a dancer.


How has dancing change your life?


Ma'Kaylia: Dancing gave me way to speak without using words. I’ve never really been good at expressing how i feel, but with dance I was given the space to create my own conversations whether it be my own choreography or someone else’s; everyone’s “conversation” looks different, but no matter the language anyone can understand just by watching. It’s really become my greatest release.



What advice would you give to your younger self?


Ma'Kaylia: I would tell my younger self to worry less about what someone else thinks about you feel good about you, for you.


what's your contact information for booking?


Ma'Kaylia:To book your first/ beginner friendly privates for kids and/or adults:

Email

Call/text

(504) 408-1444

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page