top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Interview with Fitness Guru Jazmyn Polk!

Are you looking to get fit or tone up a bit? Me too! Everyone has their favorite content creators, but as a mom of 3 myself - I need to tune into someone more relatable. If you haven't came across her content already, it's a matter of time before you do!

Jazmyn Polk bravely showed the world her weight loss journey after having 4 kids herself. Her content includes at home workouts, advice and her journey of becoming a distant runner. She wakes up every day and run MILES! So if you don't understand why I'm tuned in by now I don't know what to tell ya. Nevertheless, I got to interview Jazmyn about her weight loss journey and life before kids.


So without further delay, everyone meet Jazmyn!


Interview


Before having kids did you ever struggle with your weight or body image issues?


Jazmyn: Before having kids, I struggled with my weight and body image issues. Like others, I went through periods of feeling self-conscious and dissatisfied with my appearance. Growing up we see the images of skinny woman being what is considered beautiful and bullying in school to the bigger woman. You always have a fear that if I get too big, I am no longer beautiful. But it was not until after my first kid that it really hit me hard. I hated being in pictures or being seen by people I knew because I was so self-conscious about how I looked after the baby weight piled on.


At what point did you decide you wanted to get fit?


Jazmyn: The decision to get fit was a sudden epiphany for me. One day, I woke up, weighed myself, and finally said enough was enough. At the heaviest I have ever been throughout my life, I wanted to prioritize my health and well-being, not just for myself but also for my family.


Everyone knows that first workout after not doing it for so long can be dreadful. Can you tell readers how your first workout went?


Jazmyn: It was brutal. I was huffing and puffing. I remember it vividly. It was a 30-minute beginner YouTube video, and I was only able to complete 10 minutes of it, but I reminded myself that every journey starts with a single step, and I focused on celebrating the fact that I was taking that step towards a healthier lifestyle. From that day on, my goal was to be able to complete that video 100%. That took a couple of weeks, but when I did the feeling was wonderful.


What are some positive affirmations you've been saying throughout this journey? Also, what are some negative things you stop telling yourself?


Jazmyn: I have been practicing positive affirmations such as "I am strong," "I am capable," and "I am worthy of self-care." I have also stopped telling myself negative things like "I'm not good enough" or "I'll never be able to reach my goals." Changing my inner dialogue has been crucial in staying motivated and focused.


What are your long term goals for social media since your audience has been growing?


Jazmyn: My long-term goal for social media is to inspire and motivate others on their own fitness journeys. As my audience grows, I want to provide valuable content, share authentic experiences, and create a supportive community where people feel empowered to prioritize their health, especially after welcoming in children.


What advice do you have for mom's trying to lose weight?


Jazmyn: For moms trying to lose weight, my advice would be to be patient and kind to yourself. Rome was not built in a day, and neither is a healthy lifestyle. Focus o n making small, sustainable changes, prioritize self-care, and surround yourself with support. Remember that progress is not always linear, and setbacks are a natural part of the journey. Most importantly, believe in yourself and your ability to achieve your goals.



Jazmyn Social Handles


Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page