top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Getting To Know Recording Artist BandUp Ty | Exclusive Interview

Today, we're sitting down with BandUp Ty, a dynamic recording artist from Muskegon,MI who recently released his album "Painting Pictures" this year. This album showcased his unique style and storytelling to fans. In addition to this project, he has also dropped music videos for his singles "Go Wrong" and "To The Left," further establishing his presence in the music scene. Beyond his music, BandUp Ty engages with fans through song reviews and vlogs on his YouTube channel, also called BandUp Ty. We're excited to dive into his creative process and hear more about his journey.



INTERVIEW


Can you share your story about how you first got into music and what inspired you to start rapping?


BandUp Ty: I started getting into music at age 7. When I was younger I listened to Michael Jackson, Chris brown and James Brown. I had a stuttering problem so I had to learn how to talk. During Christmas time my family wanted me to sing and that's when I found out that’s the only way I can speak without messing up my words. I've been in love with music ever since then.


How did growing up in Muskegon shape your music and the messages you want to convey?


BandUp Ty: I lost a lot of friends coming up in Muskegon. Some showed me what not to do, while others showed me the importance of following my dreams. Life is short and yo friends ain’t yo friends. I had to be alone for a minute and create my own lane with my music.


Who are the artists or people that have had the biggest impact on your musical style, and why?


BandUp Ty: I'll say Moe3, Chris brown and Omb Peezy. The way they came up is something I felt I could relate to. I wanted to sing and they had the kind of style I was looking for.


What inspired you to write "Go Wrong," and what message do you hope listeners take away from it?


BandUp Ty: I couldn’t speak and I struggled with that tryna get my words out. I was feeling down at certain points but couldn’t show it. My cousin Crispy showed me the game in hooping, so I had a hard time showing him love on that. Booda gave me the game with the streets( he locked up right now). It got to a point where I was seeing all my friends passing and didn't know if I was next or not. One time I said to my daughter Marley, "You see me on Tv?!" (she be watching my videos,so I do this for her). I had a choice, pick my side and when I heard that beat it just made it all come out.


How do you approach the creative process when working on new music, and what keeps you motivated?


BandUp Ty: I play 5 beats, if I find a good one (depending on if I wanna sing or rap or both) I freestyle on it. I make like 6 songs on that beat then switch to another beat to see which one is better ( which one can I grab the people with). I also speak a message about my story or to keep the kids away from the streets.I pick the one I like the most and freestyle again (but this time more serious)! As I’m focusing on what the topic should be (to make it something fans can can vibe to). I usually write after freestyling twice on the beat. I take what I freestyled and turn them into a song if that make sense.


What challenges have you faced in your career, and how have they shaped you as an artist?


BandUp Ty: Some challenges I face is working with camera men that haven’t posted my music (so I can attract their fanbase). I've worked with big artist and been lied to about features... I've been messed over by a label giving me bs and not owning up to they part. Also dealing with some family not supporting from the city.


Honestly it's a lot, but I shoot my own videos now. I’m building my fanbase and started going harder by connecting with other big artist. I worked with a lot of big artist and opened up for a couple. I got over my fear of stage fright, I've truly grown a lot. I’m still moving forward and I know God got me.


What kind of role model do you hope to be for your fans, and how do you want your music to influence the next generation?


BandUp Ty: I want to put people in position and help those that want to do better. I want my music to show people what I've been through and to learn from it. I want the people to feel that they can do anything and show them that they don't always have to talk about violence. It’s nothing to the streets and it’s a better way if you want to do better.


Kommentare

Mit 0 von 5 Sternen bewertet.
Noch keine Ratings

Rating hinzufügen
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page