top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Get To Know Upcoming Artist Sipp DaKidd In Exclusive Interview!

In this exclusive interview, get to know rapper Sipp DaKidd with me! We dive into the journey of an artist whose roots stretch from the heart of Mississippi to the streets of Muskegon, Michigan. Known for his unique and laid-back style, Sipp Da Kidd blends Southern charm with Midwestern grit, creating a sound that resonates with fans across the country, which is totally a vibe! Fresh off the release of his latest mixtape, "I Hate I Love The World," which dropped in August of this year, he reflects on his upbringing, influences, and the evolution of his music. Revealing the stories and experiences that shape his distinctive voice in the hip-hop scene.


MUSIC LINKS


I Hate I Love The World Mixtape Link:





INTERVIEW


What inspired you to start rapping, and how did you first get into the music industry?



Sipp DaKidd: I've always been writing lyrics and poems since about the 3rd grade. Rap Music is like the baseline cadence of the soundtracks that play in the movie of my life. My parents played all type of music , but both of my dads have a real love for hip-hop. I'm independent right now and consider myself an underground artist. So I guess I'm not Industry, but I distribute my music through Distrokid to all streaming platforms, and over other platforms like SoundCloud,YouTube and Bandlab. I also make reels and TikTok clips to showcase and promote my music and collabs. Basically My foots barely in the door , but I'm barking up the right trees .



Can you describe your creative process when writing lyrics and composing music?


Sipp DaKidd: As of late it starts off one of two ways: if I'm making a song by myself either I'm starting off with a few words and I be like "-oo this sound cooler with this instead of that". I start writing the lyrics and got like a metronome in my head. The way I write is like how I talk, so its usually pretty conversational.The time it takes me to text some one a story about something and have a small conversation, is probably the same amount of time it takes for me to write the lyrics to a song out.


The other way is I have a beat already or hear one that imma grab later and it sticks in my head. I listen to it over and over again, and with the metronome in my head sinks into the beat. When I start writing it's still the same conversational like flow , but syncopated or embedded into the beat itself. I like to use autotune and FX in different ways that make the song into the vibe , emotion, or feeling I had in my head.


How do you handle criticism and feedback from fans and critics?


Sipp DaKidd: My biggest critics are usually people close to me that I show something to lol. It's kinda like you take a big family photo with friends and family you haven't seen in forever. Maybe there's dead rellies in the picture too, people you don't see often , Good memory to save right? You take it and show someone that memory to share it , and they say "oh that's tight, look like y'all used a android camera tho, you need a iPhone bro". Like make that make sense 😤 , people give me they critical analysis, and sometimes don't know the difference between something I did in the studio or if was on bandlab. They just wanna say " Fix something" or make it sound like "this". I usually just wait till they are done talking and say "That's how it's supposed to sound", or "it's on purpose" and I be serious. It's a song, but it's more than that it's a vibe! Some vibes are multidimensional, not so 2D as it's been portrayed.


Which artists or experiences have had the most significant influence on your style and sound?


Sipp DaKidd: Experiences ....Probably writing stuff growing up like little remixes and when I would do them in front of my mom. She hyped and encouraged me, giving me ideas on how to make something make sense. Lol She even gave me bigger words for concepts (english classes, learning about poetry, how metaphors and similes work). She also singled me out for having too many run on sentences(Again I write how I talk).


I found out about the importance of a comma "," for spacing and eventually conjunctions. Basically,fucking speaking. My sound is just me speaking in my favorite way, in my own vibrational sync to the beat (I'm immersed in you feel me). With the melody tone and vocal fry in my voice, I do use inspiration from artists I enjoy. I like to sculpt out my own voice style though.


My family is from Mississippi, they moved up here to raise us, so I'm heavy on the dirty south and hip-hop scene. From OutKast to 8Ball Mjg, Trick Daddy to T.I. As well as the whole Louisiana Bounce era, NWA, Nas and artist from New York, Biggie, Pac , Wayne, J.Cole and beyond! I feel like Hip-hop raised me, Pops ain't miss.💯 It's more than even them, but basically the culture of Hip-hop itself I've been born into. Hip-hop is broad, vast, Growing, ever changing and evolving. Genres mix and match all day these days, but the soul of rap and hip-hop itself hasn't changed. It's still here and it's in everything, especially the new Artists. Lol but that's going into another topic that's podcast worthy right there. 😂🙌💯


What themes or messages do you most frequently explore in your music, and why are they important to you?


Sipp DaKidd: Themes, I'd say the idea I want people to use while hearing my music is ya boy make music in vibes. The same as how you can picture a memory in your head and kinda remember how you felt or what it smelled like. When I make a song, I'm combining myself with the beat or instrumentals while talking to you/ singing/ harmonizing with myself, it's like feeling a memory vibe sort of.


Each song is a different episode, shit, sometimes a different series! I like to make a song into a whole Genjutsu, but it be relatable. I'm not out here doing unrelatable, unrealistic shit, but I can turn some regular shit into a real movie for you sound wise because that's how I see life (and if you feel me, you'll feel me , you feel me?)


Can you share a memorable moment or challenge you’ve faced in your career and how you overcame it?


Sipp DaKidd: I sold my Xbox right before I dropped out of college for a good opportunity placed in front of me. I used the money to buy a beat for a free studio session I got in Alliance, Ohio from a good friend who was a local DJ. He knew a guy who owned a club/bar and was in show and stage production. I basically did a session and had to leave but we recorded the song. Bro had family things going on and I had to leave back to Michigan before we got back in with eachother. I actually touched base with him through social media but he never came through for any follow-up sessions, I figured I was ass out. No hard feelings but it put a wrench in my whole motivation for a while (not the making of music ,but the getting in of it).


I overcame it by continuing to write until one day I started putting my own stuff out after I got invited to be with Phill Myers nem at the pop up studio. after that experience, I found bandlab and haven't stopped since. I even did a whole album with My man Jay over Exit Door Productions EDP Beats.


Basically just keep going, if you really want to do this you can't let anyone or situation stop you. Expressing in your music is medicine to people that relate and your message about what drives you to create or express is ultimately what makes your music "Art". "Art" makes you feel something, whether it's mad , sad , angry , horny or depressed or happy, it's all "Art" if you feel it. "Medicinal Art" happens when your Art leads people to understanding.


I want to make all my art medicinal by rooting it in truth. I believe in Jesus, and I believe the word, and when it told me to come as I am, and to judge not lest I be judged. So my art will be without shame because through my expression of the root of MY TRUTH, it becomes my testimony and your testimony is Medicinal Art.



What are your thoughts on the evolution of rap and hip-hop, and where do you see the genre heading in the future?


Sipp DaKidd:I feel like God gave us Rap and Hip-hop, and all the music so we could make a joyful noise. It's a blessing to be able to make any noise and I don't think it's going anywhere but up honestly. It's one of the many instruments we use to communicate here and it's definitely multidimensional in concept. Hip-hop touches you in verses and stanzas like poetry, shoot... Like the Bible. I feel like we're only speaking the languages God gave us with this music and if it's from God, it's for forever.

Commenti

Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page