top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Gemini DaPoet Debut As 1st Pick For The Cover Of New Digital Magazine Company!

When you think of community leaders what type of person comes to mind? Depending on your location, your community leaders may resemble you and probably can relate to the everyday problems you have. I want to introduce you to a leader whose impact on Muskegon, MI has been felt for well over 10 years!


As long as I can remember, Ebony Davis aka Gemini DaPoet has been a staple for the city of Muskegon, especially it's youth. If you haven't heard of Gemini yet, by the end of this interview you'll be scrambling on your socials to find out more!


Speaking of social, I'm happy to announce that Swing Pendenlum Swing has expanded into the magazine space and offer a digital magazine of this interview here for free! Be on the lookout for more exciting news, because I'm for sure turning things up a notch!


Thank you again Ebony for speaking with me and I want to personally thank you for being such a strong piller within the community!




INTERVIEW


You go by "Gemini Da Poet", were there other names you had in mind before picking that one?


Gemini: Honestly, there weren’t. When I decided that would be my poetry name I decided on Gemini DaPoet because, as a Gemini there are various sides to me and that was what I felt people got with my poetry. There isn’t just one type of poetry I can do because I refused to be put into a box. So this name allowed me to be a chameleon, and adapt to any event. I decided on DaPoet because I still wanted to show I am me and I will always remember where I come from so I spelled it that way (slang) to show I will always remain true to my roots.


Do you remember the first poem you spoke publicly? How was that moment for you?


Gemini: Yes, the first poem I did publicly was at my lifelong bestfriends funeral. But the first poem I presented to the world came after I lost a childhood friend to gun violence and wrote “What’s Going On” which is still in rotation on 103.7 The Beat FM, 14yrs later.


What does poetry mean to you?


Gemini: Poetry is therapeutic and has been a form of therapy for me with all I have endured and the various losses I’ve had. It is a gift that God gave me to use to inspire and motivate those that are often forgotten about. It helped me discover my purpose and has allowed me to do what I love. It allows me to connect with the youth by revealing my trials and tribulations to show them your past doesn’t determine your future and nothing is impossible if you remain humble, keep God first and allow him to lead you.


The city of Muskegon obviously loves you, In what ways have you given back to the community?


Gemini: One thing I’ve always vowed was to represent my city because it is what made me. I’ve volunteered at various events, I’ve done a free summer poetry workshop for the past 3 yrs, we are doing our 4th annual in July, I’ve collected clothes and shoes for those in need, I’ve purchased school supplies for families, I’ve been a mentor to the Muskegon Lady Reds for the past 9yrs, etc. Honestly I have done a lot but I can’t remember it all because I don’t do it for accolades. When God puts it on my heart to do for others I just try to be obedient. I stood alongside a family who went up against a racist Muskegon Police Officer who had KKK memorabilia in his home despite receiving death threats. We ended up getting him removed from the force! I have been the “voice for the voiceless’ and will always show up to fight for justice for our community and the residents that reside here. Honestly I am “the people’s poet” because they know if something needs to be addressed Gemini DaPoet will unapologetically do just that!



I know readers want to see you live! Where are some places you usually perform at and how can you be reached for bookings?


Gemini: I am currently planning an Open Mic and will be releasing the details soon as everything is confirmed. We are working on bringing back an open mic on a regular basis. People can follow my social media pages as they have all of my upcoming shows and I always promote and announce them there.


My social media is:

FB: Ebony Davis (Gemini DaPoet) and my business page Poetic Aspirations

IG: Geminidapoet231

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page