top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Exclusive Interview With Golden Gloves State Champion Josh Owen!

In this exclusive interview, we get to know Josh Owen, the 2016 Golden Gloves State Champion. We discussed his remarkable journey in the world of boxing. From his early days in the gym to claiming one of the most prestigious titles in amateur boxing. Josh shares insights into his training regimen, the challenges he faced, and the dedication required to reach the pinnacle of the sport. With a passion for boxing that continues to drive him, Josh offers a glimpse into what it takes to succeed at the highest level and the impact the sport has had on his life.



What first sparked your interest in boxing, and how did you decide to take it up seriously?


Josh: I first started boxing when I was 17! I used to watch my dad box and it was always something that I wanted to get into. As soon as I started training I was hooked!


Can you share a memorable moment from your amateur boxing career that has shaped who you are as a fighter today?


Josh: My most memorable moment would have to be winning the Golden Gloves State Championship in 2016.


As you prepare to go pro, how are you mentally and physically preparing for the increased level of competition?


Josh: I’m trying really hard to keep anything that is draining me or takes a lot of my energy away from boxing. I still plan on doing a few more amateur fights before the end of the year and making a run at the Golden Gloves Nationals in 2025. So I have been training extra hard and giving it my all!!


What do you enjoy most about boxing, and what keeps you motivated during tough training sessions?


Josh: I love that when I’m in the gym I get to clear my head and channel all the struggles life throws at me into punches. My son is a big motivation for me and I really been doing a great job staying locked in and just thinking of my future in the sport.


Who do you consider your toughest opponent so far, and what did you learn from that fight?


Josh: My toughest fight would have to be my first fight with Antonio Battle. I learned about the animal I never knew I had inside and tested me in ways nothing else has.


How do you balance the demands of training and competition with your personal life outside of the ring?


Josh: My life right now is perfectly set up for me to be able to fully commit to the sport, with me having my son full time, I end up having to bring him training with me sometime but he loves it so it’s alright.


What message or advice would you give to young athletes who aspire to become professional boxers?


Josh: Remain focused and if it’s your dream to become a professional boxer don’t stop until you make it! I started boxing when I was 17,I boxed until I was 21 and then life threw some obstacles at me. I had to take 6 years off, if I would’ve never stopped for those 6 years God only knows where I would be at in my career right now! So my biggest advice is stay focused and always make it work no matter what, it will all pay off!

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page