top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Cooking It Up With Chef Lovely Churchwell

All my life I've been a foodie and constantly finding myself on the hunt for a great meal. Whenever I visit my hometown, there's one chef in particular that steals my heart while filling my stomach.


That Chef name is Lovely Churchwell. The quality of her food is next level and her plating is top tier. I have yet to have a negative experience with her and I doubt you will as well! I nervously approached her for an interview and she happily agreed.


Meet my all-time favorite Chef in the world Miss Lovely Churchwell!



Interview


At what age did you fall in love with cooking and where did you receive your training?


Lovely: I fell in love with cooking at such an early age, around 10 years old. My mom was one of my biggest influences on my culinary journey, she worked for Muskegon Public Schools over 10 plus years & within those years I had a chance to witness the process of cooking & it’s usually not 100% cooking either. Just being in big kitchens as a child gave me all the passion and excitement I needed for my future as a chef. I attended a plethora of schools for culinary arts. I even attended cake decorating classes as a preteen that my Godmother paid for. I later attending CIM- Culinary Arts Institute of Michigan at Baker College for baking and pastry which was a bit boring to me but I still learned a lot there.




After leaving CIM I took on the challenge of moving to Chicago. I always knew I would lived there as I made a promise to my younger self that I would. I was a bit scared but I was more thrilled than anything. I didn’t know a soul there, I attended Robert Morris University of Illinois as a double major in Business Administration and Advanced Culinary Arts. Being there was so life changing, despite spending most of my time by myself I just felt so fearless and free especially with all the negative things said about Chicago. I just love it there, and since school it's became my second home. When I left Chicago and came back to Michigan, I felt like my purpose was over. I was a girl living in a small town with big ass dreams. I cried almost everyday when I moved back but I got it together…. Eventually.


I took about 2+ years off from fulfilling my dreams, I honestly thought I was finished. It was just one thing after another happening during that time. I felt I lost my midas touch until I put up one last fight and got back into the groove. That’s when I was hired at 18th Amendment as a prep cook then quickly became their Pastry Chef and was featured on the ABC network and Mlive.After my episode aired, there was a line wrapped around the building of customers trying to get my cheesecake that’s when I knew this will always be in me no matter what’s on me.


I quickly learned that no matter how good you are at what you do and how much praise you get - you’ll still run into problems with being a talented, educated, woman of color. It comes with tons of fake love,unnecessary issues because your colleagues may be intimidated by the respect others show you and your grind. Anyone who’s ever worked with me would say I’m a powerhouse but I’m also serious and overly passionate about what I do and who I am in the kitchen. I earned my title, it just wasn’t given because I know how to cook or went to culinary arts school. I worked day in and out for this, long hours 14 to almost 16 hour shifts and getting straight out of work to start on a cake or catering with my own business (Lovely Cakes Boutique and Catering, LLC). No guts, no glory.


I was lucky enough to have my former Executive Chef stop what he was doing so he could help me for a few hours of homework, this is a rare thing because kitchens are extremely busy and Executive Chefs barely have enough time for themselves. When others want to see you win they’ll do whatever they can to see you win, period.


For a relaxing day at home, what are your go-to meals?


Lovely: I can be so simple and extreme at times. I remember eating nachos for months straight because it was so simple but good. I spend so much time cooking and doing for others that sometimes I just don’t have that same energy for myself, unfortunately. When I’m feeling a bit more relaxed & upbeat you can catch me at the country club where new ideas are being created far as cooking or somewhere in Chicago trying new restaurants to be more inspired. Another go-to meal would be well seasoned, grilled Berkshire pork chops and a loaded baked potato with stuffed mushrooms from Turks Tavern in Nunica, when I say the best thing ever please believe me when I say that! When I’m feeling really beat I’ll try to make others cook for me, it’s funny because they’re always surprised & hesitant when I ask because of my occupation, sometimes they decline cause they know I talk mad shit but it’s all love and jokes, I don’t look at myself like I’m Gordon Ramsey, even though I just absolutely love him.



How would you describe your cooking style, and what are your highly requested dishes?


Lovely: My cooking style is very uniformed but unique. I don’t use measurements while cooking, but baking is another story. It all really comes from the excitement and burning passion in being able to dance around the kitchen.


When I know I have a long day ahead of me in the kitchen I start my morning with Luther Vandross- Never Too Much, it sets the tone and vibe of my day and usually never ever goes wrong. I know there’s so many people who are rooting for me so I keep that in back of my head while I’m cooking. It also turns me up and listening to my good sis Nicki Minaj.


I enjoy doing things by the book because that’s how I was taught, but also adding my touch to it. One of the first things I learned in culinary arts school was people eat with their eyes first. That has always stuck with me over the years, so I make sure when I’m plating my food that it’s extravagant. It’s all an experience in my eyes, to the food, plating and presentation.


My highly requested dish is my Hennessy Glazed Lamb Chops. When creating this masterpiece I didn’t know customers would go so crazy over it— and I’m glad they did! Sometimes in cooking you have to keep up with the trends and the next hottest thing in hospitality. I created Hennessy Glaze in ‘21-‘22 and it’s been a hit ever since. My favorite is when it’s requested by customers for catering events, they go for $475 for one pan. First to leave at a event too, just those alone have landed me catering gigs, it’s honestly such a great feeling, humbly & truly.


Anytime I decide to sell plates and henny lamb chops are on the menu they always sell out within hours. It’s a heartfelt experience & I really appreciate everyone who supports me, even by sharing my post that goes a long way. I don’t have a team, it’s just me, so the love and support from my city will always be a big thing to me, you guys show out and show up for me, no matter where I go it’s 2-3-1 FOREVER.


How can readers reach you for bookings?



Lovely: For those who are interested in my services you can send me a quick message on Facebook, DM on instagram (@Cheflovelyc)

Snapchat (Lovecakes_94)

Email: Lovelycakesboutiquellc@gmail. com.



I hope to have an official website in the next few months, I’m never hard to find but I’m always busy. So please don’t get discouraged when I don’t respond right away, I promise I’m not ignoring anyone. I try to

get back with people within 24 hours or by the end of the day of inquiring.


I’m excited to be adding new services to my business, to name a few of them would be BBL Pre/Post Op (meal prep) & Cannabis, I took a stab at these two things because they are request services and always trending. When the girlies have BBLs scheduled they come see me right away to get tips on how to lose weight fast and/or how to maintain a healthy lifestyle after surgery. One thing I must put out there is I love the bbl girlies. Far as cannabis goes, I’ve done plenty of projects with cannabis, but I want to dive a bit deeper into it, my plans are to create an online cannabis bakery, so stay tuned! Xo


Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page