top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

Changing The Narrative With Ontario Hampton

It's so easy to judge a book by its cover without even giving the first page a glance. When you look at me, would you assume that I was expelled from high school before? Well I was, and I had to go to court, was fingerprinted all because of a fight I was in. That will forever be a part of my story but that isn't the end of my story. All of us make mistakes and deserves second chances. I got a chance to interview someone who took full control of their life with their second chance.


Everyone meet Ontario Hampton! Certified CDL driver and Little League football coach. Ontario opened up about his life and how he's changing the narrative from his past. May his story be a testimony for someone that you aren't your mistakes, and that anything is possible when you believe in yourself.




INTERVIEW


Can you tell readers where you're from, and what it was like growing up there?


Ontario: I’m from Muskegon Heights, Michigan and it’s rough where I’m from. You're either playing sports or are in the streets getting money. It's a lot of deaths in my city, I loss a lot of close friends coming up.


You played football while in highschool, what does being involved in sports mean to you?


Ontario: I played football my whole life,I was pretty good at it. It took me alot places in life. I wish I was still playing, but hey I live through my kids now.


You've always been open with your social following about your life, how much have you change since getting out of prison?


Ontario: Yeah I try to be open, showing the youth that you can have a chance at life. It’s never to late to get your life together. I did 5 years in federal prison and been home 3 years now. Been at my job for 3 years, got my class A CDL, and other trades and LLC’s so you can do it too!


What advice do you have to young men who feel lost in this world?


Ontario: To the young man out there feeling lost, I been there a time or 2 in my life. I want you to pick your head up and work harder towards what u want! Never have the words "I CANT" in your vocabulary. You can do anything, don’t matter how long it takes or how hard it is.


In what ways have you supported or given back to your community?


Ontario: I’m trying to start my own CDL studying to help people get there trucking license faster. My current ways of giving back is working for my city Muskegon heights, I’m coaching little league football. Getting more involved with the kids, I’m working on going to schools to tell the kids about making the wrong decisions but you can fix them.

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page