top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

AMA$E - "SOME LEGENDS LIVE"

Updated: Dec 31, 2019



25 year-old SOSMG label owner and recording artist.

From being featured in local news papers, to his music reaching cities across the United States. An independent artist by the name Ama$e is someone to keep an eye out for! His mixtapes Success Over Sleep and The Unexpected Vol.1,2 and 3 is what earned him his stripes. Now owning his own record label SOSMG, Ama$e is trailblazing his way to success by any means! I was luckily enough to catch up with him as he opens up about his future in music, growing up Muskegon,MI and gives advice to younger artist.

At what age did you fall in love with music?


Ama$e: I was around 8 years old when I fell in love with music. My God father was a disc jonkey. He use to spin "I get around" by Tupac (black records). I fell in love with the word poetry and how it made me feel.


Who are your musical influences?


Ama$e: I would have to say Drake, Nipsey Hussle, Jadakiss, Andre 3000, Kendrick Lamar, Travis Scott, Meek Mill, Jay Z, and Rick Ross


What was it like growing up in Muskegon?

Ama$e: Growing up in Muskegon you see a lot too early. Overtime the environment rubs off on you. Being young, and helping to bury your friends really changes the narrative of your perspective. It tends to make you become exactly what your trying to get away from,due to your fear of being the next one on a t shirt. It's more hate here then ever, I honestly feel like this generation of kids in the city might really have it worse.

If you could do anything for your community right now, what would it be?


Ama$e: I would change the narrative of the influence in my city. The city moves accordingly to what's in the air. Meaning if you influence people to do good, then that will be motive for most. If you influence them to be negative, it works the same way.



Who are your mentors and the people you look up to?


Ama$e: I would have to say my mother, my manager Josh, and my granny. They have my best interest and are very strong people that truly motivate me to do better everyday.

If a producer asks to hear your top 3 hits, what songs would you play?

Ama$e: I would choose "Every move", "Dawg", and "Against me". When I wrote those songs, I was going through a lot! The energy on those songs really came from the frustration of my life.


You were apart of a group named "Yung Legendz" earlier in your career, why did you guys split?

Ama$e: Well, we split because we had big fall out. Basically everybody turned against me, I started the whole group and had copyrights for the name. I let them keep it and started SOSMG on my own: which I learned from Dr.Dre. Things are better this way anyways, much love to them though.


Are there any artist you are currently working with?

Ama$e: Of course JH Robbie, Sleep So Focused, PL12, & Buc Town (Snoop)

What should fans expect from Ama$e in 2020?

Ama$e: I have an EP album coming in 2020 called "Some Legends Live". I'll have full merch for my clothing line "A$M Clothing", a ton of music videos and a documentary on the way. Also expect some dope mainstream collaborations!


What's your advice to aspiring young artist?


Ama$e: I would tell them to just stay dedicated. Be very serious with investing in themselves. Understand that it is all business, there are no friends in the industry. Practice all the time and stay independent as long as you can. Lastly dont just say your lyrics, own them and get paid!

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page