top of page
Writer's pictureSheshona Collins

A Conversation With Big Gramz: Transforming Muskegon With The Power Of Boxing


I recently had the opportunity to sit down with Big Gramz, the founder of Gramz Golden Gloves (a boxing league that's making a big impact in Muskegon). Through his passion for boxing, Gramz has helped reduce violence in the city DRASTICALLY and created a safe space for those of all ages to learn, grow, and channel their energy in a positive manner. Here’s what he had to say about his journey and the incredible changes he’s seen in the community.



INTERVIEW


What inspired you to start a fighting organization in Muskegon, and how did you envision it contributing to reducing violence in the community?


Gramz: When I started the fight organization, I was really messing around - playing with idea. I just thought it was a good idea, I just never thought that it would work. I kept seeing people around Muskegon constantly fighting, using weapons etc. So I figured we should just have a boxing match with entertainment,food and drinks. Win or lose both fighters will get paid. So that's what influenced the idea. I didn't know it would reduce the violence as much as it did but I'm all for it!


Can you share some of the challenges you faced in the early stages of establishing the organization, and how did you overcome them?


Gramz: My biggest challenges was being on tether and trying to find a job - just going through life problems. I overcame those challenges with the boxing organization, it brought me peace and showed me something else. It gave me motivation to do something positive vs focusing on the negative. Everyday I woke up, instead of trying to do something negative I began brainstorming for the boxing organization, that helped me overcome my challenges.


What changes have you observed in Muskegon since the organization began? How has it impacted the community and the individuals involved?


Gramz: I feel like it changed a lot, it's giving people that's not rappers,comedians, popular or famous (people who may feel like they don't matter) a platform. I'm trying to help those who always had a love for boxing dreams come true! A lot of people like watching backyard boxing and couldn't wait for it to come to Muskegon. So I feel it's helping people out and slowing down the violence. The problems that people out here got isn't worth killing someone over.


How do you ensure that the competitive nature of fighting doesn't escalate into real-life violence but instead fosters discipline and respect?


Gramz: After all the fights we make sure the boxers touch gloves or shake hands. I have real armed security at every event, we make sure It's nothing but a good time and good vibes. Things haven't escalated beyond that, sometimes you win, sometimes you lose but no one ever went home angry - or throwing their gloves off in a fit. It's nothing but fun and entertainment at Gramz Golden Gloves.


What has been the community's response to your organization? Have you seen increased support from local leaders or law enforcement?


Gramz: I've seen a lot of support, I wish I had more but I grateful for the support that I do have! I wish there was individuals on the law enforcement side that wanted to contribute to my efforts to change the community. It takes them, we need them! If they could help me out, I could help the community out myself, we have to help eachother! I'm someone whose trying to change my life and law enforcement should see that by helping the organization. Whenever that day comes, it'll come. In the mean time, I'm grateful for the supporters that are around helping me.


Can you share a success story or a moment that highlighted the positive impact your organization has had on someone's life?


Gramz: The Josh and Carlos fight had over 100 people there! Including people that didn’t like eachother, people that don't really go out. From the ring to the crowd, it was a good feeling seeing everybody in one spot with no bs or confrontations going on. Considering when I started, it was only ten people in the back yard. Now weeks later, 100+ shows up! So I can’t say how I impacted someone else's life - that’s on them to tell you. What I do feel is it impacted more then just my life for sure!


Looking ahead, what are your goals for the future of the organization, and how do you plan to expand its reach or influence in Muskegon and beyond?


Gramz: My goals is to show everybody that you can do anything! Don’t be scared of what people think - do what’s best for you and your love ones! I plan to buy a venue, and find other fighters that’s not only in Muskegon but everywhere in the world. I want people to tap in with me, I want to bring "Gramz Golden Gloves" to any city the people want me at. I want to support my fighters and pay them like they deserve to get for. They hard work and it takes a lot of courage to step in the ring!




Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page